Growth in Complex Organizations: Three Essential Attributes

How to develop the mindset to thrive in evolving environments.

Carter Gibson
10 min readMar 29, 2024

It’s the end of Q1 and… honestly? It’s been a long quarter!

In addition to a productive time professionally, I’ve been adventuring — galavanting down the California coast to see the reveal of new electric vehicles and investing in travel to see friends. This hasn’t left a lot of time for personal reflection and I was beginning to feel the beginnings of burnout.

For me, the “beginnings of burnout” manifest as:

  • making small mistakes at the fringes of my responsibilities
  • resentment towards my alarm clock even with 8hrs of sleep
  • a background hum of “everything is a little wrong” fogging up my brain

For a remedy, I got coaching from one of my most respected mentors (and former Corporate Engineering Vice President at Google), Daryll Henrich. Daryll navigated me through some real briar patches while he was my lead.

Here are two important facts about Daryll:

  • He always made me feel better, often by showing me a perspective different from my own which could always break me out of my headspace, helping me see new angles. Daryll is masterful at this…

--

--

Carter Gibson

Community Management strategist & Program Manager | Internal Community Programs Lead @ Google | Excitable Geek | Lover of spectacle | I write about my passions